GO outside GROW inside

Stand Up Paddle Directory: Ottawa Valley & Area

IMG_1492 2.png

COURSES AND EVENTS:

May 13: Hell or High Water – Class III whitewater SUP at Golf Course Rapids (10 Tall Pines Road) at 1 pm. Demo equipment available. Must have own wetsuit/drysuit. Pre-registration required. Contact hohwpetawawa@hotmail.com. Buy a $20 raffle ticked to be entered to win $1000 gift card from Trailhead Paddleshack http://www.hohw.ca/

May 20-22: Paddle Canada Advanced Flatwater Instructor and River 2 skills with Paddlefit at Madawaska Kanu Centre – Paddle and camp on the May long weekend. http://www.paddlefit.com/event-registration/?ee=567

AWE Yoga SUP yoga at the Pembroke Marina, evenings in July and August. Equipment rental available. Details at https://www.aweyoga.com

Liquid Skills – beginner to advanced paddling clincs/classes on the Ottawa River, equipment rentals, and instructor courses. Group and individual programming for flatwater, whitewater, fitness, tours, surf, yoga. Register at https://www.liquidskills.com

August 11-13: Upper Ottawa River Race and Paddle Festival. Fun on the water for the whole family! Reel Paddling Film Festival, 4 km and 13 km race, paddle for CHEO (tag), heritage paddle http://www.upperottawariverrace.ca/ Volunteers wanted

‘Celebrate Our Rivers’ – local waterway paddling series. Full list of May-August paddles: https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=sites&srcid=Ym9ubmVjaGVyZXJpdmVyLmNhfHd3d3xneDoyM2E2ZTAzZDkzNzc1MTIy Bonnechere Caves / Ottawa River Institute / Bonnechere River Watershed Project / Valley Heritage Radio

Town of Petawawa – Free social paddles Tuesday evenings at Petawawa Point. Begins May 30 at 6:00 pm. Call 613-687-5678 x 2102 to reserve equipment http://www.petawawa.ca/things-to-do/water-based-activities/canoe-kayak-sup/

 

RACES:

May 27: Big East River X http://muskokariverx.com/big-east-river-x/

June 17/18: 24 hr River X https://raceroster.com/11579?aff=A5GUQ

July 22-23: Kingston 2 Ottawa http://kingston2ottawa.ca/

July 29: Mattawa River Canoe Race http://www.mattawarivercanoerace.ca/ North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority

August 12: Upper Ottawa River Race and Paddle Festival http://www.upperottawariverrace.ca/

September 16:  Muskoka River X http://muskokariverx.com/muskoka-river-x/

Ontario SUP series (various dates and locations) http://ontariosupseries.com/

 

RENTALS:

Outdoor Bound Outfitters (Eganville) 613-628-5454

Liquid Skills (Beachburg) https://www.liquidskills.com/rentals

Town of Petawawa (Petawawa Point)

Demo Center: Trailhead Paddleshack (Carp) http://trailheadpaddleshack.ca/trailhead-demo-center/

MEC (Ottawa) https://www.mec.ca/en/stores/ottawa

 

BUY A BOARD:

Trailhead Paddleshack http://trailheadpaddleshack.ca/store/paddling-sup-boards

Level Six https://www.levelsix.com/

MEC https://www.mec.ca/en/stores/ottawa

Swift Outside http://www.swiftoutside.com/sup

*Consider: shape of the board based on your intended use for the board (all-around board for fitness/yoga/leisure, river board for whitewater, touring board for expeditions, racing board for speed), material construction and weight of the board, weight rating on the board, size of the board, hardtop vs. inflatable, and how you’ll transport the board. Ensure you have the proper safety gear when heading out onto the water, including (as appropriate) but not limited to: leash, life jacket, whistle, tow line, waterproof flashlight, wetsuit or drysuit, helmet…